Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In  |  Join SFT
Dr. Shirley Johnston Bio
Share |

Shirley Johnston Named 2000 Bartlett Award Winner


The 17th Annual David E. Bartlett Honorary Address will be presented by Dr. Shirley Johnston at the 2000 Annual Conference in San Antonio, TX.  Dr. Johnston will greet friends, colleagues, and former students, prior to the Address, at a reception in her honor.  The reception and Address will be held  on Friday, December 1 from 6:00 – 7:00  PM.  SFT and ACT members and guests are invited to this very special event.


Dr. Johnston, an internationally recognized specialist in small animal theriogenology, embodies the description of a theriogenologist many strive for, as teacher, a clinician, and a person who upholds strong ethics within veterinary medicine. 


While at the University of Minnesota, Dr. Johnston single-handedly developed a strong small animal reproduction service, providing didactic and clinical teaching and advising several Masters and PhD students who have themselves gone on to promote small animal theriogenology either in academia or clinical practice.  As an administrator at the University of Minnesota and Washington State University, and now as founding dean of the Western Veterinary College, she continues her work as a theriogenologist, and is a magnificent representative of the specialty both to the North American veterinary community and abroad.  She has authored many book chapters and research articles in small animal reproduction, and is a past president of the ACT.  Most recently, Dr. Johnston elected president of the International Executive Committee of the International Congress on Animal Reproduction (ICAR) in Stockholm, Sweden.  She is the first woman member of the committee and only the second U.S. member to serve as president.


The David E. Bartlett Lecture Award, sponsored jointly by SFT and ACT, annually rewards a distinguished theriogenologist who has made important contributions to the field.  It’s purpose is to honor not only Dr. Bartlett, the first President of ACT, but to recognize the efforts of the entire Founding Committee of the College.  Without the dedication of the Founding members, the College and Society would not exist in their present forms.  The Founding members are Drs. Lloyd Faulkner, Fayne Oberst, John Kendrick, Stephen Roberts, Ray Zemjanis, and C.J. Bierschwal

SFT Office
P.O. Box 3007
Montgomery, AL  36109-3007
Ph:334/395-4666  Fax: 334/270-3399

Copyright © 2013 Society for Theriogenology.  All rights reserved.


Community Search
Sign In


7/22/2018 » 7/27/2018
ISER Symposium on Equine Reproduction

8/1/2018 » 8/4/2018
2018 Therio Conference Attendee

8/1/2018 » 8/4/2018
2018 Therio Conference Exhibitors and Sponsors

7/24/2019 » 7/27/2019
2019 Therio Conference

Therio News

SFT Mission

The Society for Theriogenology is an organization of veterinarians dedicated to animal reproduction, whose mission is to promote standards of excellence in reproductive medicine, to provide outreach and education to veterinarians, and to foster continual improvements in theriogenology.

Contact Us

Society for Theriogenology
761 Tiger Oak Drive
Pike Road, AL 36064
Office: (334) 395-4666
Email us.
Copyright © 2018. Society for Theriogenology. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with us: