Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In  |  Join SFT
Therio eNews December, 2008 - Issue 9
Share |
Therio E-News 

Bartlett Award Nominations Sought

Nominations are now being sought for the 2009 Dr. David E. Bartlett Award, presented annually to a distinguished individual who has made important contributions to the field of theriogenology.

The award-intended to cement the efforts of the Society and College toward common goals in animal reproduction, to reward and inspire excellence, improve the visibility of theriogenology, and to annually recognize the efforts of the founders-particularly honors Dr. David E. Bartlett, first president of the College. Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Bartlett was responsible for deriving the terms "Theriogenology” and "Theriogenologists,” and was instrumental in gaining hard-won AVMA recognition for the AmericanCollege of Theriogenologists in1971. (To Read More)

Dues Notices Sent - Updates Needed


All members of the Society for Theriogenology should have received a 2009
dues notice which was sent this month.  If you have not received yours, please
contact the Society office at 334-395-4666. 

The postal service has returned several dues notices indicating either
insufficient or wrong address information.  You are encouraged to go to the Therio website ( and check your personal profile to make sure everything is correct.  If you have moved or changed your e-mail address or phone number please make the correction on your profile.  The Society office
will automatically be notified that a change has been made. This will insure
that you do not miss important notices or other Therio news sent through the postal service or by electronic communications.


Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated.


In Memory

Dr. John Williams of Georgia, a charter member of the AmericanCollege of Theriogenologists passed away recently and is fondly remembered by family, friends and colleagues as an individual who was instrumental in helping to form the ACT.


Dr. Willis G. Parker, an Emeritus member of the College recalls Dr. Williams
as being one of several charter members who was called to discuss the idea of establishing the David E. Bartlett Award more than twenty-five years ago. Dr. Parker said he called Dr. Williams and asked the question, "What if Dr. Bartlett will not concur?” According to Dr. Parker, Dr. Williams replied "We’ll do it anyway,” and history became tangible at that moment and the Award was begun.


According to Dr. Parker, Dr. Bartlett heard of Dr. William’s comment and was nudged into giving the very first Bartlett Award lecture.


Dr. Williams graduated from the College of Veterinary Medicine in Georgia in 1953 and after training at Auburn and Stockholm he returned to the university and taught for many years.


Please remember Dr. Williams and his family during this time of loss.


Community Search
Sign In


7/22/2018 » 7/27/2018
ISER Symposium on Equine Reproduction

8/1/2018 » 8/4/2018
2018 Therio Conference Attendee

8/1/2018 » 8/4/2018
2018 Therio Conference Exhibitors and Sponsors

7/24/2019 » 7/27/2019
2019 Therio Conference

Therio News

SFT Mission

The Society for Theriogenology is an organization of veterinarians dedicated to animal reproduction, whose mission is to promote standards of excellence in reproductive medicine, to provide outreach and education to veterinarians, and to foster continual improvements in theriogenology.

Contact Us

Society for Theriogenology
761 Tiger Oak Drive
Pike Road, AL 36064
Office: (334) 395-4666
Email us.
Copyright © 2018. Society for Theriogenology. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with us: