Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In  |  Join SFT
2011 Bartlett Award Winner - Dr. Dwight Wolfe
Share |


Dr. Dwight Wolfe - 2011 Bartlett Award Winner

Dwight F. Wolfe, DVM, MS, DACT of Auburn, Alabama has been selected as the 2011 recipient of the David E. Bartlett Award. This award is presented annually to a distinguished individual who has made important contributions to the field of theriogenology

Dr. Wolfe received his bachelor’s of science degree in animal science from the University of Tennessee in 1973, then completed both his veterinary degree (1977) and master’s degree in theriogenology (1982) from Auburn University. Shortly after, Dr. Wolfe became a Diplomate of the ACT in 1983. He continues his pursuit of knowledge as he continues to identify problems within the livestock industry with more research and evaluation. Currently he is a professor in the Food Animal Section of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Wolfe has contributed greatly to the ACT and SFT, as well as the field of theriogenology. In the ACT Dr. Wolfe has served on the Program Committee for the Canine Symposium (1993), President (1997), Chair of the Forward Planning Committee (1998), and Chair of the Residency Evaluation Committee (1998). During his years in the Society he has served in the following committees and positions: Director (1990-1993), Program Chairman (1992, 2004), Publicity Chairman for the Canine Symposium (1993), President (2004), Bovine Program Chair (2009). He also currently serves on the Editorial Board of the Clinical Theriogenology journal. Dr. Wolfe is one of only four Diplomates that have been the president of both the ACT and SFT during the history of both groups

In addition to his involvement with the ACT and SFT Dr. Wolfe has also been very involved in other professional and honorary societies: American Veterinary Medical Association, Alabama Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Bovine Practitioners, American Association of Equine Practitioners, International Embryo Transfer Society, Academy of Veterinary Consultants, American Association of Veterinary Nutrition, Gamma Sigma Delta, Alpha Zeta, Phi Zeta, Society for the Study of Reproduction and Sigma Xi

Dr. Wolfe has contributed greatly to the field of theriogenology as well as the livestock industry in a variety of ways including funded research, publications, abstracts, textbooks, chapters in books, presentations and consultations.

To add to Dr. Wolfe’s many accomplishments, he has received a variety of awards. The Alabama Veterinary Medical Association selected him as the Alabama Veterinarian of the Year in 2004 and also presented him with the Association’s highest honor, Distinguished Service Award in 2009. AuburnUniversity presented him with the Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence in 2010 and dedicated the DF Wolfe- Food Animal Hospital Barn at the College of Veterinary Medicine in April 2006. In 2006 he was also inducted into the Alabama Livestock Hall of Fame

This year’s Bartlett Award presentation is definitely not one to miss! Dr. David E. Bartlett will be presenting the award to Dr. Wolfe at
8:00 a.m., Wednesday, August 10th, during the Annual Conference in Milwaukee, WI


Bartlett Address


Community Search
Sign In

Therio News

SFT Mission

The Society for Theriogenology is an organization of veterinarians dedicated to animal reproduction, whose mission is to promote standards of excellence in reproductive medicine, to provide outreach and education to veterinarians, and to foster continual improvements in theriogenology.

Contact Us

Society for Theriogenology
P.O. Box 168
Mathews, AL 36052
Office: (334) 395-4666
Email us.
Copyright © 2020. Society for Theriogenology. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with us: